Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

On the Ephemeral Nature of Poppies May 21, 2009

Filed under: flora,my garden — greenwalks @ 9:12 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Now you see me…

Delicate papery orange poppies

now you don’t!

Poppy stem without petals

(Papaver atlanticum, I believe – kind of a weed in my garden but I let it stay until it’s done blooming, then rip most of it out. It’s always back the next year, and I love its long skinny stems and delicate, papery petals. Plus, up close, the left-behind seed pods are so cute, with their little fuzzy red starfish pattern clinging to the top.)

 

9 Responses to “On the Ephemeral Nature of Poppies”

  1. Aerie-el Says:

    They are fun, aren’t they?! My very first one is blooming today, and looks like plenty more to follow.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Catherine Says:

    I think they are really pretty. I’d love to have some in my garden. I agree the seed pods are very interesting too!

    • Bonnie Story Says:

      Maybe their job is to remind us of the fleeting nature of all things. Especially beautiful things… I will say that California poppies put on a very long show, and thrive on neglect to boot! They don’t have quite the drama of these bigger ones. They remind us to get out with our cameras and not wait!! Happy gardening – will you have a long weekend? Hope so! Cheers, Bonnie

  3. Melanthia Says:

    Lovely color. I just spotted my first poppy bloom today. I also just seeded the poppies from Catherine. Hope they materialize use. Cool sky photos, too!

  4. Megan Says:

    I keep trying to pull my poppies up, but I’m losing my resolve. I think I only had one come up this year, but it’s kind of growing on me. I’m actually looking forward to the orange flowers, which is out of character for me.

  5. The one poppy I have was a gift from my mom. I usually manage to miss the actual flower and instead get to enjoy the orange petals on the ground and the lovely seed head left behind.

  6. Jen Says:

    Never have been able to grow them – at least from seed and I’ve tried! The seedlings seem so delicate. I may have to just buy a plant and stick it in the ground, huh? Like the color of these.

  7. Racquel Says:

    Those papery like petals don’t linger long do they? Pretty while they last though…

  8. Carol Says:

    Hi Karen, I had forgotten to visit so just had to go back to see your earlier posts… love your poppy … great color! and yes they can be so ephemeral but like you I love the center of the seed pod for its interesting design.


Leave a Reply

