Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Raised Beds Sprouting in the Parking Strip May 23, 2009

I saw this while driving home from the school run last week. I had to stop and take photos, the sight warmed my heart so much.

Parking strip raised beds with fresh soil

This is a corner lot on a fairly busy thoroughfare, but the beds are located on the side street. Five of them! No idea what’s going in but I’m going to be keeping a close eye on them to see how they are planted.

Looks like the sod was maybe smothered with cardboard and then stripped and turned over in the spring.

Parking strip raised bed with busted sod

Then, in with the black gold!

Shovel in fresh soil

The guy who made them was in his garage, headphones on and table saw blazing. I didn’t have the nerve or heart to hover and stop him to ask about the raised beds, but it looks like either he or someone else there is already an avid structure-builder and gardener, judging from the house-side street garden.

Streetside trellis and Mexican feather grass

Pot of coleus, black mondo grass and ?

Spirea &  hydrangea?

Purple flowered vine

Forget-me-nots & ?

Golden perennial

A little leftover good soil, dumped into the arterial side of the parking strip. Guess maybe something’s going in there too!

Compost piles on parking strip

Extra wood, board ends or fodder for the next garden building project?

Extra wood

I know, I’m a freak, but stuff like this just sends me over the moon. There are so many folks in my neighborhood adding raised beds, ripping up sod, and otherwise making more space for gardens right now. It’s a revolution!

 

8 Responses to “Raised Beds Sprouting in the Parking Strip”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I am the same way. I get so excited when I see neighbors doing projects in their yards. It seems as one person starts, many neighbors join in on their own yard. This guy looks like he knows what he’s doing. I hope you post pictures of what he plants in the beds.

  2. Racquel Says:

    So cool, can’t wait to see what he’s planning planting there! Hope you go back later to take a gander. šŸ™‚

  3. LOVE this “freaky” side of you! Keep it up.

    That is a wide parking strip! And very nice planting boxes. Looks like he’ll be feeding a few families. I’m trying to learn from you and be brave enough to get close and take pictures of others garden spaces. Part of me thinks I am going to be screamed at!

  4. Katie Says:

    I bet he would have been over the moon if you stopped and told him what you said here! Thanks for sharing the pictures – we have nothing like this in my area, so these planting strips are so cool!

  5. RainGardener Says:

    This is great – can’t wait to see an update on all he’s doing.

  6. Sue Says:

    I just have to laugh, because you took all those photos, but were too shy to talk to the guy! Come on, ask him about it next time. I bet it will make him feel good you like what he is doing.

  7. Carol Says:

    It is so exciting whenever we see sod being replaced with gardening! You have a good reason to be flying over the moon. You are certainly no freak! Fabulous!

  8. easygardener Says:

    Lots of planting possibilities there . You must let us know what goes in them!


Leave a Reply

