Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

A Furry Visitor May 26, 2009

Filed under: fauna,my garden — greenwalks @ 10:03 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One of the reasons I like gardening in the parking strip area is that I get to meet the friendlier of my neighbors. I live in kind of a funny neighborhood, where a lot of people will walk right past without a glace or a word, which is fine by me. But when someone stops to say hello or says something nice about the garden, it makes my day.

Sometimes, the visitors are not of the human variety. I have watched many jays, flickers, crows and hummingbirds out there, so much so that I feel like their daily dramas (must find food! must protect babies!) are a vital part of my life. Finding a ladybug on a leaf, surprising two flies in an act of, um, love as I did the other day, or observing the flight path of a lazy bumblebee can all make me feel like all the work and labor of struggling with the soil conditions, baking heat in the summer, and challenges of getting everything the water it needs worthwhile.

Here is someone who stops by now and again. He doesn’t usually come over for a chat, but he does flop down and roll around on the sidewalk and stay awhile if I leave him be.

Feline visitor to parking strip garden

Who is visiting your garden these days?

 

14 Responses to “A Furry Visitor”

  1. Racquel Says:

    That is one cute visitor!😉 I have birds, squirrels, and sometimes the occasional bunny in my garden. Your parking strip garden is looking great this spring Karen.

  2. Carol Says:

    Karen, what beautiful textures! Love the yellow in the low shrub with the peachy tulips … and the wispy grass. Adorable kitty! I love cats but glad there are none in my garden which is a bird sanctuary these days.

  3. Grace Says:

    Cats and gardens, it doesn’t get any better. My two cats love the garden. They’ll nuzzle my legs to say hi but really prefer to be a few feet away, just watching under the guise of a cat nap.

    Your greenwalk is really amazing. Please post more photos.

  4. mothernaturesgarden Says:

    I had one of those in my garden today. He was also white.
    Donna

  5. easygardener Says:

    Birds – and the Squirrels of course. Having taken a break to raise their kids they are now back. They have almost chewed through my new squirrel proof feeder. I’m wondering if they are filling their furry pockets to feed the whole family!

  6. Megan Says:

    I don’t know if I’ve seen a shot of your whole parking strip before. It’s looking so good! I’m always happy to see every available inch of soil spoken for with a plant🙂

  7. RainGardener Says:

    What a sweet visitor. WoW Karen I’ve never seen all of the parking strip. Does everyone on your block do it? It’s beautiful and so peaceful looking.
    Hey I saw some more really nice strips the other day and of course I had to take pictures. I’ve started a folder so I can do a post. Look what you’ve done to me!
    I did critters again today – holding off on my few flowers for Fertilizer Friday! LOL Wish I could do loads of flowers every day.

  8. Melanthia Says:

    What a fabulous parking garden! I must visit soon to see it in person. Love your furry friend. Looks just like a friend’s cat, Toffee. I’ve got catmint in our strip, which attracts my own cat. Mostly birds, squirrels and the occasional dog stops by to lift a leg!

  9. futurestandard Says:

    Nice picture! I think kitty is digging it…

  10. Catherine Says:

    He is cute, neighbor cats can be nice visitors, they add a nice relaxed feel! I came fact to face with a hummingbird today, I was next to the feeder and I guess I was in his way.
    Your garden looks great!

  11. greenwalks Says:

    Thanks for all the nice comments, guys! This is a good time of year for this part of the garden. Most stuff survived the winter, and the few open spaces were colonized by self-seeding annuals like California poppy, Bachelor’s button, Cerinthe, etc and then the Mexican feather grass is trying to fill in what’s left. Disclamer: my portion of the strip stops at the nice yellow shrub (spirea?) and sumac, those belong to the very careful gardener next door – he has a whole alpine rock garden thing going on, not my style but very nicely put together.

  12. Yikes I guess I missed your blog yesterday! GREAT photo! Of course the kitty is terribly cute but I really can’t take my eyes off your parking strip! I wish you were my neighbor!

  13. Jen Says:

    Who wouldn’t be happy in such nice surroundings?! He looks as if he’s looking around appreciatively in the photo, smelling the flowers. We have some furry visitors now too – caterpillars! I haven’t determined how dangerous they are yet, but I’m on the lookout for damage.

  14. Michelle Says:

    Your parking strip is so lovely! If I were that kitty, I would be visiting all the time to admire the garden.

    I love to watch all the wild (and not so wild) life also.


Leave a Reply

