Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Caught Napping June 7, 2009

Filed under: other blogs — greenwalks @ 7:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

Like this ladybug on a leaf, I must have dozed off because somehow, I missed that one of my all-time favorite garden writers started a blog this spring.

Lil' ladybug on leaf

Valerie Easton, who writes “Plant Life,” one of the Pacific Northwest’s (or anywhere’s) most accessible, wonderful, helpful, inventive and down-to-earth garden advice columns – it appears in the Seattle Times’ Sunday Pacific Magazine and online at the Times site – launched a blog in February called Plant Talk.

I have been whining for ages about how she didn’t have a daily dose of garden goodness and now, in the midst of the busiest gardening season, I have four months of archives to catch up on! Maybe I will savor them, go slowly, hold a few back for next fall and winter. I highly encourage you to check out this blog, even if you already have too many to read daily. In it, she shares amazing plant combos from her own garden, answers questions from readers, and generally spreads what I consider some of the best garden taste out for us all to enjoy. Want to know how to make a drip watering system for a potted tomato out of a San Pellegrino bottle? She’s on it.  An easy, tools-free way to prune pine trees? Ditto. Want a cool modern look for your deck garden planters but don’t have an arm and a leg to spend? She’s got that covered too.

Her book “Plant Life: Growing a Garden in the Pacific Northwest” should be on every NW gardener’s bookshelf, or at least their library list, and she has a more recent one that I’d also somehow missed – “A Pattern Garden: The Essential Elements of Garden Making.” Oh yeah, another cool thing about Ms. Easton – she was the head librarian at the Miller Library/UW Center for Urban Horticulture forever and a day.

Even if you don’t live up here in Cascadia, she’s got plenty of great ideas that could apply just about anywhere. C’mon, what are you waiting for? Wake up and fly on over to see what she’s got going on!

 

6 Responses to “Caught Napping”

  1. Tatyana Says:

    Karen, I am intrigued! Tools-free way to prune pine trees? I need it! Drip watering system for a potted tomato? I need it!
    I am running to her blog right now! Thanks! You could be a good marketing person, by the way!

  2. Catherine Says:

    I really like her too, I’m going to check it out.

  3. Kanak Says:

    Hi Karen, thanks for the link… I’ll be checking it out. It sounds interesting. Have a great gardening week!

  4. Thanks for the tip. I clicked on her blog and saw the photo of the alliums with the spirea and made a mental note that I must plant some purple alliums next to mine! Wonderful combo.

  5. Jane Says:

    I love Valerie Easton, so thanks for the blog recommendation!
    I’ll be sure to check it out. And I like your idea of saving some of the blog archives for later (winter).
    You might want to head over to Timber Press’s web site and sign up for their emails: they’re not super frequent and they are nicely informative. That’s how I heard about Valerie’s latest book. They have great sales, too: http://www.timberpress.com/

  6. Melanthia Says:

    This also missed my attention. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

