Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Hello, I Love You, Won’t You Tell Me Your Name? June 9, 2009

Filed under: Plant ID,trees — greenwalks @ 12:12 pm

(Pondering a shade tree for the back garden, saw this one up the street in someone’s parking strip and totally fell for it, can’t find it in any of my tree books, got a silly Doors song stuck in my head about it so will make you suffer along with me…)

Hello, I love you, won’t you tell me your name?
Hello, I love you, let me jump in your game.

I’m walking down the street
Blind to everyone I meet
Do you think you’ll be the one
To ID this tree so I can get me some?

I love this tree

It holds its head so high
Like a statue in the sky
Its arms are lovely, and its roots are long
When it moves my brain screams out this song

Sidewalk crouches at its feet
Like a dog that begs for something sweet
Do you hope to make it yours, you fool?
Do you hope to pluck this variegated jewel?

Variegated tree

Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello
I want you
Hello
I need my baby (sapling)
Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello

Mystery tree

(Any thoughts on what this lovely specimen might be, and whether it is a good candidate for a smallish backyard, would be most welcome. Sorry about passing along the earworm!)

To see the Lizard King (Jim Morrison) & Co. in action from 1968, click here. Have you been to visit his maybe-grave at Pere-Lachaise cemetery in Paris? I have, by accident (I was looking for Oscar Wilde instead but it’s impossible to miss the people hanging out over with Jim.)

 

12 Responses to “Hello, I Love You, Won’t You Tell Me Your Name?”

  1. Jane Says:

    That tree looks suspiciously like a variegated box-elder. If so run as far from it as you can! I admit I’m biased, but we have two as street trees and in the years before our tenure of the house, they were trimmed horrendously by the power company hacks. But even if they’d been left alone, they are brittle, messy trees. As soon as they get leaves, they start shedding them and small branches, copiously. Take a look around the tree you have photos of: I’ll bet you see a lot of tree debris. Oh, and it will get big, too. Ours are about 30 (pruned) feet high and 40 feet wide.

    Sorry to rain on your parade, but if I’m right, you don’t really want that tree. How about a stewartia? Lovely smaller tree with white blossoms in summer.

    But thanks for the earworm – it’s happily implanted in my ear!

  2. Catherine Says:

    I don’t know the name of the tree, but I love your rendition of the song.
    I have seen Jim Morrison’s grave, and we went specifically there to see it. Strange as it seems when my friend and I went to Paris that was one of our must see places.

  3. fairegarden Says:

    Hi Karen, I too have no idea about the tree but adore the song, both yours and his. My son had a poster of the gravesite in Paris in his teenager’s room long ago. I liked Catherine’s story too. No telling what you are going to get from this, but hope you learn the name of the tree too.🙂

    Frances

  4. Bonnie Story Says:

    Hi! I’m thinkin’ some kinda variegated willow… The dwarf kinds are super-duper patio trees, the full size ones can, as you see, get reeeeally big. That’s my guess and I’m stickin’ to it. Next time you are at a better nursery, ask about variegated willows and I think you’ll find one to check out. It will probably be a patio-size one but they are not that different from the jumbo giants. Hey, earworms from the Doors are always welcome!!! Thank you for the video link!! Bonnie

  5. Tessa Says:

    Don’t know what it is, but our neighbor has it. Sorry, they are non-gardening neighbors, so I know they won’t know what it is🙂. I’ve always loved it, beautiful and great compost leaves!

  6. I’ll put my vote in with the willow, though I’m not at all sure, and I’ve never seen a variegated willow.. It was my first thought when I saw the photo, though.

    I think it’s a hoot that you went to see Oscar Wilde and wound up with Jim Morrison. Actually, if you think about it, they did have a lot of personality traits in common.

  7. Jane Says:

    Just checking back in to say I’m quite positive your mystery tree is a variegated box elder – acer negundo according to Megan at nestmaker (although I think hers is a standard green). I recognize all the little hanging clusters of wings.

    Read Megan’s blog entry from last week on her acer negundo if you think I’m making too much fuss over the mess factor.

  8. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ I have a neighbor with the box elder tree and I agree that it is a beauty. I must say that I’ve never been a fan of that song but your rendition is clever, catchy and strangely applicable. LOL.

  9. Megan Says:

    *Inserts sad trombone sound here*

  10. Jen Says:

    Beautiful tree – it does look big but maybe you could find a dwarf version.

    Jim Morrison grew up near St. Pete Florida where I’m from. Did you ever read his biography “Nobody Here Gets Out Alive?” I’ll never forget one of his landlords saying “EVERYBODY wanted to sleep with Jim”. Hello indeed!

  11. Ha ha…it was fun to read your post, and the comments of all the others before me!! I won’t give you any info on the tree but with the comments having more votes toward the box elder, I’d go with that (even though I know nothing at all about it!!). I love the story about your trip to J.M.’s gravesite and the song is an oldie that I could never get out of my head once I heard it and now it’s the same way…help! it’s going on and on and on…..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. I second Jan’s comment don’t know anything about the tree but really enjoyed the comments on Jim/The Doors.


Leave a Reply

