Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Greendrives June 16, 2009

Filed under: neighborhood gardens — greenwalks @ 7:49 pm

I haven’t had a lot of time for ambling around to look at other people’s gardens lately. It seems like I’m in the car too much these days, or else at home, frantically finishing up whatever I can before my daughter gets out of school for the summer at the end of this week.

On various errands around Seattle lately, I have caught sight of a few unusual parking strip gardens but just have not had time to stop. I look at them longingly, try to make a mental note to go back and investigate further. Somewhat hazardously, I sometimes snapped a photo from the car if I was stopped at a light or at least going slow with nobody in front or behind me. I have to stop doing this, it really is not too safe.

I saw this garden on the corner of a busy, semi-industrial street in my old neighborhood, Freelard. OK, it’s really Ballard, where it connects with Fremont – when we were feeling fancy we’d call it Balmont (that didn’t happen too often.) I have no idea what motivated someone to plant lilies and cardoons together, but I think it will be even more wacky when more is blooming. I’m sure the colors will be pretty intense.

Wacky Ballard Parking Strip with Cardoons

I was creeping down a steep hill just above the previous garden when I noticed this one, a low-growing herb bed full of flowering thyme, Spanish lavender, and purple culinary sage.

Herbal Parking Strip

Waiting for a stoplight to change, I was behind this tree service truck. Do you really think it’s powered by soybeans? How about their chainsaws?

Soybean-fueled tree care truck

I admit it, I’m a menace on the road when I see something in a garden that I like.

 

5 Responses to “Greendrives”

  1. Jane Says:

    Freelard! Haw! I confess I would love to live in Ballard: it’s my absolute favorite Seattle neighborhood.

    Just don’t plaster yourself all over any of those nice parking strips while you’re recording them for us, okay? We’d never get over the guilt.

  2. You crack me up! Freelard? Balmont!? Now I have new names to describe excellent parts of Seattle. Do you have any for where West Seattle meets White Center? I need adopt your photographic methods, seems I see far too many things from my car and think I’ll go back “later”…not too likely unfortunately. Be safe though ok!?

  3. Soya beans ought to be food not fuel! It is a crazy world…

  4. Jen Says:

    Maybe you need a bumper sticker “I brake for Parking Strips!”
    That thyme/lavendar/sage combo is really pretty.

  5. Megan Says:

    I have the same problem, I’m always in a hurry and driving by something, but I always forget to go back. I’ll admit to a few drive by photo shoots too, I’m glad I’m not alone. I hate when you see something you want to capture and the light turns green before the camera is ready. I guess maybe the secret would be getting the camera ready before inspiration strikes. Just looking to improve my driving photography skills, not to stop.


Leave a Reply

