Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Seattle Garden Show Finds a Buyer (Finally)!!! June 30, 2009

Filed under: garden shows — greenwalks @ 7:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t usually do re-posts, but I just read this article in the Seattle Times and had to share – the Northwest Flower and Garden Show, the biggest deal in town, has finally, finally found someone to take it on and continue all the fun for another year, with “no major changes” planned. Phew! I hope they find a way to make it profitable enough to keep it going for a long while yet. Even though I complained about some aspects of the show this year, it’s always such a source of inspiration and education and I was really starting to worry that it was gone for good.

I’m going to get my tickets early this year, maybe for more than one day this time. Hooray for reprieves!

(It’s funny – when I went to the show’s official site just now, it didn’t have anything about the sale being final. Guess they’ll get to it when they can!)

WSNLA

Washington State Nursery & Landscape Association Display Garden image courtesy of the NWFGS site.

 

7 Responses to “Seattle Garden Show Finds a Buyer (Finally)!!!”

  1. Grace Says:

    Wow. Kudos to the new buyers for their willingness to take it on. I hope too that it draws a profit or at least a break even. Any event that promotes beautifying the earth is okay by me.

  2. Tatyana Says:

    Good news! Thank you Karen!

  3. Catherine Says:

    That is great news, thanks for the update🙂

  4. Great news! I finally made it to the show last year after being absent for 10 years (god I’m old) and was sad to think it would be my last opportunity.

  5. Jen Says:

    That’s great for all you Seattle gardeners!! (and us east coasters who get to look at the photos on your blog!)

  6. Megan Says:

    I’m glad it found someone willing to continue on, it seems to have so many loyal fans, it was hard to believe they wouldn’t keep it alive.

  7. Jane Says:

    What great news, Karen. Thank you so much for passing it on!My friends and I in Portland were mourning its demise but unable to go to the last one.

    Now I can plan my annual trip to Seattle again!


Leave a Reply

