Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

My Garden is Smarter Than Me July 2, 2009

I lack the design sense to think up successful plant pairings, but sometimes a combination of self-sowers will show up that I find delightful.

Coreopsis and Mexican Feather Grass (both self-seeded)

I didn’t even know what Mexican Feather Grass was until you guys told me, but now I love it. I’m not sure where it came from, but I’m letting (some of) it stay in my parking strip. Ditto this coreopsis (of course I just bought one to replace one that died last winter, before noticing this one), which I can see has migrated from up the street in a neighbor’s street garden. The only drawback is that both of these are growing at the edge of the sidewalk, when they’d probably look better inset a bit. If I find a spare un-lazy moment, I might try to move them. Then again, if we never have any rain in Seattle anymore (there’s been nothing to speak of since early May), then transplanting should probably wait indefinitely.

Do you have any self-sown plant combos that you are enjoying this summer?

 

9 Responses to “My Garden is Smarter Than Me”

  1. I love it when self sown seeds pop up, making un-looked for combinations.
    Yours pictured above is really pretty.
    Have a good weekend
    K

  2. easygardener Says:

    It is a beautiful picture – the flowers look as if they are swimming in the waves. As I am a “there’s a space, stick a plant in” gardener any good combination is a bonus for me!

  3. Jane Says:

    That’s a beautiful pairing you have there. Like you, I struggle with composition, so the (rare) perfect combo is very welcome, planned or accidental. My garden is a bit too new to have many volunteers, but I did pot up and give away some brown grass seedlings just last week. I may have to watch that particular set of grasses: they’re very happy to reproduce!

  4. Catherine Says:

    That is a pretty combo. I have some Verbena bonariensis that has self sown itself around an ‘Iceberg’ rose, it looks like a big bouquet. I think nature is smarter than me most of the time.

  5. Bonnie Story Says:

    Hi! I’m really pleased with my sweet alyssum that came up again. The peppery fragrance and nice white tiny flowers are very sentimental for me. And this year I did nothing! The neatest self-sowing action of my year so afr is discovering two patches of huge gorgeous blood-red frilly poppies colonizing in a clear-cut forest area! Imagine my surprise! The foliage is exactle like the awful Tansy that’s everywhere, my eyes sure popped when I spotted those amazingly luxurious rich red flowers in the middle of nowhere. I go and visit the poppies often, they are so amazing to me. Beautiful combo there of Coreopsis and feather grass!!! Oh – quick question – I looked for SAGBUTT on Facebook and couldn’t find anything – how do I “friend” the gang? If you have the answer, toss me a clue on that. Thanks and happy Fourth!! Bonnie

  6. Jen Says:

    I don’t know how it happened, but some johnny jump ups have already re-seeded themselves in front of some vines I planted on my deck. Can’t wait to see what that looks like in a couple of months!

    That feather grass is gorgeous!

  7. Megan Says:

    This is a great combo – one I’d never have thought of on my own. I also love how volunteers grow so close together. Lucky you to have such good neighboring gardens.

  8. Racquel Says:

    That is a wonderful combination, nature knows best!🙂

  9. minervasgardenwriter Says:

    I love happy accidents like those shown in your picture above! I have Persian Jewels that tend to reseed and pop up in unexpected places, which makes me happy. And, like your garden, my coreopsis also tends to show up in unexpected places, even cracks in the cement staircase! Tough plant indeed.

    Athena from Minerva’s Garden
    http://www.minervasgarden.com


Leave a Reply

