Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Soft-Focus Salad & SAGBUTT Sunday July 16, 2009

Filed under: bloggers' gathering,edibles — greenwalks @ 8:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hi friends – sorry to be blog-lagging (blagging?) lately, just not enough time in the day. I went to San Francisco for a friend’s wedding and took about 80 hundred photos of street gardens there, it’s going to have to be an ongoing series.

Here is a parking-strip salad stuff pic from before I left. I think the lettuce is mostly bolted now and the peas are on their last legs/vines, but it has been a great year for my usual few garden produce varieties this year. The new stuff, not so much – if I have time, I will write about my crop failures and maybe get some of your thoughts on how/what/if to do better next year.

Summer salad from the garden

If there’s anyone who has Sunday afternoon free this week (7/19) and wants to join the Seattle garden blog crew at what should be a new benchmark for fun gatherings, please feel free to leave a comment here or email me at greenwalksblog@yahoo.com – Daniel Mount and his partner Michael are hosting a harvest picnic at their place, which Daniel describes as a small (7 acre) farm nestled in Carnation Marsh , 150 acres of Audobon Society bird (and bear) sanctuary” which includes “a 160 ft x 60 ft vegetable patch.”  Wow. I’m assuming the bears will have other things to do than talk about why we blog and which blogs we enjoy reading, as we will be doing while munching delicious salads and finger-foods under the cherry tree.

 

11 Responses to “Soft-Focus Salad & SAGBUTT Sunday”

  1. Bonnie Story Says:

    Would I love to join y’all at the picnic! What a great opportunity!! But my in-laws (outlwas) are here as our guests and I must stay and entertain. Darn it… I’m really looking forward to seeing event pics from Mr. Mount’s place (sounds wonderful) AND your SF pics!! That will really bring back the memories. Thanks so much and have a great day – Bonnie

  2. Jen Says:

    That’s a gorgeous salad – so many colors and textures. I’m going to a “local foods potluck” this weekend at the home of another Nyack veggie grower. We found each other through the blogs! Have fun in that big veggie patch – take some photos, ok?

  3. Aerie-el Says:

    Beautiful salad!!
    With all the excitement (which isn’t over yet) of this week, I won’t be able to make the SAGBUTT meeting.
    If anyone is interested, I’d love to organize a future meeting in the south end at the Lake Wilderness Arboretum. I’ll email you on FB.

  4. Megan Says:

    Bears? Makes me wish I was in Seattle.

  5. Matron Says:

    Wishing I was with you there for more chat and swapping! Say hello to SAGBUTTs for me?

  6. Cynthia Says:

    Hi Karen! I was beginning to wonder where you were hiding at!😉 Was about ready to email ya til I saw that you had a new blog post today. It does get hard keeping up with everything this time of year. Who knew a garden can be so demanding- let alone a garden blog!

    I wish I had grown more lettuce and what not for salads. For some reason this year I did not grow as much as we tend to eat. At least the fall garden will be here before we know it.

    It would be nice if one day I could make that not so long drive up North to attend a SAGBUTT. That is if I could ever work up the courage to meet everyone face to face! This Sunday sounds like a wonderful one. I’ll be there in spirit!🙂

  7. Catherine Says:

    I wish I could go, we are doing some work on our deck and I need to help. The meeting sounds much more fun.
    Your salad looks delicious!

  8. Paula Says:

    Karen – sounds like a fun series coming up. Busy summer, indeed. I still thought we had a month before the farm visit. Some of my lettuce is bolting and some pea plants are yellowing. I’ll be planting some more lettuce soon. See you Sunday – Paula

  9. Tatyana Says:

    Greetings from Alaska! again, i can’t be at the meeting, sorry! Karen, don’t you think that green peas last longer this year than usual?

  10. Georgia Says:

    Looking forward to the SF entries.

  11. Nummy salad! Enjoy your gathering and I can’t wait for the SF pics!!!!


Leave a Reply

