Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

What to do with a Tiny Berry Haul August 5, 2009

Filed under: berries — greenwalks @ 5:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

Whoops, forgot to protect the new blueberry bushes from birds and other critters, they took almost everything when I was out of town for a few days. Ditto the raspberries and we only have a few alpine strawberries per bush anyway at this time of year. When we went out to see what was there for dessert the other night, we came away with a pretty pathetic crop, especially for three hungry people!

Ridiculously paltry berry haul

Yes, there were a few blackberries from the rogue vine that got missed during my spring clean-out of a rather wild area of the garden. I’ll probably regret letting it stay, but I can’t resist fresh blackberries right out my back door.

Hey mom, what do you think we should do with these berries, since we don’t have very many?

Berry deep thoughts

I KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Berry sudden epiphany

Add a sprig of mint, an Italian crumble cookie from grandma, and a whole lotta ice cream (chocolate fig and honey pomegranate, in this case).

What to do with a tiny berry haul

Eat on the porch while watching and listening to the only whisper of rain in months:

A breath of rain

If you eat dessert and then go all wacky afterwards in the rain, is it a sugar fit or a rain dance? Both, in this case.

Rain dance

Happy mid-summer, all. Here, we are finally out of the worst of our heat, for the moment anyway! Feels so nice not to be HOT all the time anymore.

 

9 Responses to “What to do with a Tiny Berry Haul”

  1. Catherine Says:

    That turned into a delicious dessert. Your daughter is so cute, what pretty blue eyes.
    I hope her rain dance works!

  2. Megan Says:

    I love your summer story telling. I feel like I was there. I have an errant blackberry I missed when weeding, too. I can pick berries from the front porch, and I kind of like it.
    Glad it’s cooled off for you, too. I like this much better but the hot days took their toll on the garden. It’s a wreck out there.

  3. RainGardener Says:

    Love your pictures of your daughter – and her pink boots are so cute! Your dessert ended up looking great – and cool for this horrible weather.
    WoW below 50 I guess last night and 72 for 2 days. I be very happy!!! You got rain? We need some here. It misted a bit going through Porter heading over to the Peninsula this weekend but that’s all – just a fine mist.
    I think you’re right about my flower being a Russian Sage. A couple of other people said the same thing and I think I remember I had one of those once. Do they get bigger each year or does mine being small mean it’s a mini – I read there are little ones.
    Well, try and stay cool when this crud comes back on Saturday!

  4. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ Your dessert looks good enough for a five star restaurant! Your daughter is adorable and so deserving of this special treat. I hope her rain dancing powers stretch a bit south. I’m sorry the stupid critters think they own the place. It’s rather infuriating, isn’t it? I really should get netting for my blueberries. There is a bluejay nest not far from them and opportunists that they are, it won’t be long before they spot them. I think they’re still working on the neighbor’s cherry tree for now though.

    Thank you for the nice words about Carol’s garden.

  5. You got rain, really!? I bet it smelled devine. I am totally coveting your daughters boots…they are too cute (as is she)! Sorry to hear your berries got raided…darn critters!

  6. Jane Says:

    Very creative dessert skills, Karen! I love the sound of your ice creams – do you have a very cool ice cream store or did you make them yourselves?

    Thanks for sharing your daughter with us: it looks like you and she are having a great summer, even with the critters conspiring to steal your fruit!

  7. ricki Says:

    My neighbor tells me that spraying sugar water on the blueberry bushes will keep the birds at bay. We have netting over ours, but spraying sounds a lot easier (if counter-intuitive) so next year I think we will give it a try.

  8. Paula Says:

    Love what you did with the berries! Maybe if we all did a rain dance at the same time, we’d get some results. When it does start raining, I know I’ll be dancing in it! Paula

  9. Kristi Says:

    How fun, I need to get me some fancy pink rain boots.


Leave a Reply

