Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Fence Art November 2, 2009

Filed under: edibles,flora,garden art — greenwalks @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Want to dress up your fence or gate? Just hang a glass jar or tin can as an impromptu flower vase, as this Seattle gardener did, fill it with flowers and greens, and give the passers-by a lift:

Gate vase (olive jar)

Bonus points for a carefully balanced pile of perfectly lusciously rounded apples (maybe they became “art” due to those telltale critter holes).

Fencepost apple pile

 

9 Responses to “Fence Art”

  1. Love the random artistic touches…gardeners are so inventive!

  2. tina Says:

    Ha! I had a post titled “What is your fence wearing?” but thought no I would not post it. Glad to see someone else did though. I dress up my fences with lots of stuff-mainly grapevine wreathes, steel letters and other things. Not apples though. That would be great for the birds!

  3. Gail Says:

    Those are clever ideas…I am going to stain mine the same rich brown that is elsewhere in the house. …then I’ll add your touches. gail

  4. Jane Says:

    How could I, with my miles of chain link fence (and sidewalk), not have though of this? Time to start planning for spring hangings! Thanks, Karen!

  5. Love it! Seattle neighborhoods look like they are great places to stroll around.

  6. Oh so fun! I need to keep an eye out for this treatment….

  7. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ Hope all is well with you. I love aged wood fences. Everything looks great with them. And these embellishments are just pure charm.

    • Jen Says:

      Nice. I’m trying to figure out how the glass jar is attached to the fencepost….
      Love the apples too. I’m going to try carving some into tealight holders soon.

  8. Alice Joyce Says:

    Stopping by to say Hi …
    thinking about you lately, hope all is well.
    My husband is still bringing tomatoes home from his allotment, but I haven’t been eating them. I assume they’re not as tasty, but he tells me they are worth a try.
    Today is grey, looks like the rain may be returning.
    Cheers,
    Alice


Leave a Reply

