Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

There’s Something About Street Trees December 6, 2009

I seem to be on a tree kick here so maybe I will just keep it going…

Garden Rant had an invitation to discuss thoughts on street tree policy here. Lots of comments! People feel strongly about their streets and trees, go figure.

Local Ecologist blogger Georgia writes from NYC now, she always has great insights about public policy and plants.

A monthly Festival of the Trees rotates among a variety of blogs, including co-founder Dave’s at Via Negativa this month. Always good arboreal stuff in this round-up, from photos to poetry to links that will lead you to look at our leafy friends in new ways.

Now, back to photos. Some of my favorite street trees in the neighborhood, all taken a few weeks ago when more leaves were up than down.

Japanese maple, unknown variety (it would be on my short-list for the back garden, if only I knew what it was!):

Unknown Japanese maple variety in fall - lovely

A pretty dogwood (I would say maybe Cornus kousa except that I have one and it lost its leaves much earlier, so I’m not sure):

Dogwood in fall

Close up of dogwood fruit – do they remind anyone else of Crunchberries?

Dogwood fruit in November

Another Japanese maple, I’m going to go with ‘Bloodgood’:

Bloodgood maple tree

Nothing like sunlight through those leaves, turns them from wine to scarlet:

Light through Bloodgood maple

I’ll save the neighbor’s magnificent gingkos for another time. They deserve their very own page, I think!

 

11 Responses to “There’s Something About Street Trees”

  1. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ As for street trees, size definitely matters. I like the branching on the Japanese maple. And the Kousa foliage and berries are fabulous.

  2. fairegarden Says:

    Hi Karen, what beautiful trees. I agree with Cornus kousa with those seedpods, a distinguishing trait. The maples are wonderful too. I would think that the best time to shop for one is when they are showing fall color at the nursery, then you know what you will be getting since the display can change from year to year and specimen to specimen. We all need to think about trees. đŸ™‚

    Frances

  3. easygardener Says:

    I love the red leaves in the last picture . The Cornus seedpods are very attractive too – like little lanterns.
    BTW – the last 2 comments you have left on my blog – the links from your name are leading to another site as the url is coming up as greenwalks at wordrpess.com

  4. Georgia Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out. Look forward to your Ginkgo pictures. Check out our latest post, about the Ginkgo.

  5. gardenmentor Says:

    I love a Cornus kousa, but not in a parking strip. They get so darn messy. There’s a corner lot near my house that has several. When the fruit drops, the sidewalk gets slippery and dangerous. Plus, my dog (who has a variety of intestinal issues) thinks they’re a tasty treat. Sigh….

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Bonnie Story Says:

    OMG a Crunchberry tree!!! Good to see the active discussion of city greening – it’s a complex topic. Stay cozy and have a great day! Bonnie

  7. Catherine Says:

    I love street trees. I drove my daughters around Queen Anne recently to show them the giant street trees there. We don’t have a parking strip so there aren’t any in our neighborhood. I love Japanese Maples, one of my favorites!

  8. Amanda Says:

    The maples man, the maples. Oh the colors!

  9. Megan Says:

    The prettiest neighborhoods are always the ones with tree lined streets. I like the biggest trees you can get away with. Sadly, I only have a tiny space on my parking strip, next to driveways, and below power lines. I can’t face the thought of coming home to find a tree butchered by the city tree trimmers, so I’ve gone without trees at all in that space, planting them closer to the house instead. I’ve never seen a tree I didn’t like.
    Ha. Crunchberries.

  10. When I first saw this post I thought maybe Megan was doing a guest post on Greenwalks!

  11. Those Cornus kousa fruit are actually quite tasty, but I like to let them dry to use as extra little adornments on packages, etc. I guess once the tree gets bigger they might become a nuisance, a la garden mentor’s comment, but not so far.


Leave a Reply

