Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

PlanTV December 19, 2009

Filed under: digressions — greenwalks @ 3:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This post on nestmaker made me start looking more closely at plant images in feature films and TV that we watch. Hope I am not breaking too many copyright laws here, and sorry for the poor-quality images.

Disney’s “Jungle Book” is full of tropical flora. Whether or not it is accurately rendered, that’s for someone more in the know to judge, but I enjoyed it and did see in the credits that there were certain animators who worked specifically on the backgrounds.

The titular jungle:

'Jungle Book' jungle

Little Mowgli all tucked in snugly by his friend Balou the bear in an understory plant:

Mowgli asleep in a plant

Grouchy but protective panther Bagheera and Mowgli asleep in a tree (can you tell we have the smallest TV on the planet, outside of a handheld?):

Bagheera and Mowgli asleep in a tree

And finally, Coach’s wife on “Friday Night Lights” chatting on the phone while taking a pot of aloes outside:

Coach's wife with aloe plant

What are your favorite guest-starring appearances for plants on film?

 

11 Responses to “PlanTV”

  1. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ My mind is drawing a blank [common occurrence] on plants as movie props but last weekend hubby and I watched “The Prize-Winner of Defiance, Ohio” with Julianne Moore. Taking in the period antiques circa 1960 was as fun as taking in the plot. I admit, I can be easily distracted by the props.

  2. Christine B. Says:

    It’s a very interesting subject. Can’t say I’ve ever noticed what greenery was on TV or movies. I will look harder next time I’m watching the telly.

    CB in Alaska

  3. Jen Says:

    Not too long ago we re-watched Rosemarie’s Baby. The satan worshippers were growing a bunch of weird herbs in their apartment. I almost wanted to pause the movie and take a closer look to try and figure out what they were!

    I love that movie, Grace. Will have to rent it again.

  4. Megan Says:

    Good finds. Jungles make such good scenery. The set of Lost comes to mind. The plants there almost make me want to visit Hawaii.
    I remember watching some horrible movie on a plane that had the most gorgeous garden outside of what I assume was a Hollywood modern house. I’ll have to see if Justin can remember what it was. Something about a guy adopting a kid who thought he was an alien. I’m not so good with the remembering, but I do recall being taken by the garden shots around that house.

  5. Bonnie Story Says:

    Definitely it’s “Jurassic Park” for me! Awesome jungles, very glossy, dank and alive. Also the wonderful “Sherlock Holmes” series starring Jeremy Brett – there are wonderful Victorian parlor palms and great houseplants all around, just like you would have seen at that time in respectable London households, I understand. Happy holidays! Bonnie

  6. Catherine Says:

    This is a great idea for a post. The Jungle Book is a favorite here!
    Whenever I watch movies I spend as much time looking at the gardens and landscape as the actors. I loved The Secret Garden and the beautiful gardens in it.

  7. I’m drawing a blank too. But now I have a good list of must see gardens in the movies!

  8. Jane Says:

    I’ve seen sanseveria in the office sets of Mad Men (in cool bullet planters, of course.)

  9. Tatyana Says:

    Jurassic Park for me, especially after we visited the botanical garden on Kauai and saw the giant banyan trees (my post Dinosaur Garden, Sept.16). You Karen chose such a unique subject!

  10. Karen, have a wonderful Christmas and all the best for the coming year to you and your family! And thank you for the sagbutt Christmas letter. I agree it has been a very busy autumn, but I hope to see you and all other sagbutters some time very soon. Liisa.


Leave a Reply

