Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Wishing You A Reindeer’s Rest on Dec. 25 December 24, 2009

Filed under: digressions,fauna — greenwalks @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

They must be pretty tired today, those sky-striders. So is anyone else who has been scurrying around getting stuff ready for the big day, if they celebrate Christmas in any secular or sacred way.

Best wishes to all and hope there is time to relax in this season that can overtake us all with too much of ***everything*** (food, people, stuff, emotions, expectations) at times.

Sleepy Reindeer at Swanson's

(We met this particular reindeer at Swanson’s Nursery in Seattle. Don’t you love those soulful eyes?)

 

7 Responses to “Wishing You A Reindeer’s Rest on Dec. 25”

  1. Merry Christmas, to you and your family, Karen!

  2. Jane Says:

    By now, you’ll already have spent a lovely day with family, so I’ll get ahead here for a change: Happy New Year!

  3. Jen Says:

    Whew! Finally getting some r & r in today. Of course I’m supposed to be doing laundry and cleaning the kitchen, but I’m acting like a tired reindeer today, too😉 Happy holidays to you and your family, Karen.

  4. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ Those are indeed, two soulful eyes. Exhausted for sure but also something indescribable like, a hint of depression, like, “I’m ready to go back to Lapland but I’m too tired, and I’m really annoyed by people staring at me.” LOL Amazing antlers and a well-kept coat reveal an animal well cared for, even if he is discontent.

    BTW, I went back to Winco [grocery store] to find the Jazz apple but curiously, the entire display was gone. I guess I’ll have to wait until next year. However, the Galas are divine.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Karen. I always enjoy your posts and replies to mine.

  5. RainGardener Says:

    Such a beautiful animal and I agree with Grace about his coat – it looks so shiny and well cared for.
    Hope you had a great Christmas and will have a wonderful new year.
    It’s been nice getting to know you this last 10 months of my blogging and learning about parking strips and even joining in with you to find a few here and there to post on.

  6. Catherine Says:

    Karen I hope you had a really nice Christmas with your family! As much as I love it you are right about the expectations, and it is nice when the day finally arrives and all you can do is enjoy what you have done and the people you are with.
    We never made it to Swansons to see the reindeer, he sure is beautiful.

  7. Kanak7 Says:

    Hi Karen, soulful eyes, yes….but what a beautiful critter. And one I may never see in real life!

    Wish you the very best for 2010! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!


Leave a Reply

