Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

The Curtain’s Going Up December 28, 2009

Filed under: flora,trees — greenwalks @ 9:24 am
Tags: , , , , ,

… on the annual Witch hazel show! Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Jelena’, with its unusual orange flowers, takes pride of place in my garden every January and I noticed while passing by it yesterday that the very first blossoms have begun to unfurl. They will slowly cover the tree and if all goes well, should be in full flower by mid-January. I didn’t plant this tree, but am grateful to the previous gardener here who did.

Dec 27 09 1st Witch Hazel 'Jelena' Flower

Is it showtime, or almost, for any of your favorites yet this winter?

 

17 Responses to “The Curtain’s Going Up”

  1. RainGardener Says:

    Oh that looks like it will be very showy. Can’t wait for you to take another picture when it’s in full bloom!
    Nothing impressive here. I use to have a February Daphne, Daphne mezereum I think it was called. We called it our ‘bloomin’ stick’ because it had stiff branches growing up with purple blooms that turned into berries. But one year it just never came back. Hmmmmmm . . .

    • greenwalks Says:

      I should have linked to older posts on this tree, of which I’ve done a million. It never gets old for me, though, this one! Sorry about your daphne, that’s a bummer.

  2. Megan Says:

    I’ve never noticed before how they emerge like crinkled curling ribbon. I love the Jelena variety.
    I like the way that moss has grown on the branches. I’ve been thinking lately I need to figure out how to have a moss covered tree.
    I spy a garden gnome at the base🙂 Looks like one that I inherited from my grandma.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Megan – I know, I love lichens and such but know nothing about them or why they occur some places and not others. I’m sure entire botany degrees can be based on just that. Yes, you outed me as a gnome owner. I think I posted about this one before, it’s a cheap but fairly inoffensive one my daughter picked out at the drugstore after getting obsessed with them one year. I usually bring it in for the winter for fear it will crack in cold temps but it seems to have survived the recent Arctic blast just fine (dangit).

  3. Tatyana Says:

    Hi Karen! What a pretty color! Reminds me of my crocosmia blooms. Happy New Year and All the Best to you in 2010!

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Tatyana – Yes, you’re right, that fiery coloring is similar to the basic species (?) crocosmia, I never thought of that although I have some blooming at the base of that very tree, in a different season of course! Happy New Year to you as well, and may your garden grow splendidly!

  4. tina Says:

    I was hoping mine would be in bloom but it is a no show so far. I’ll enjoy yours instead. Mahonia is the only thing blooming here:(. Best wishes for the new year.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Tina – I hope you witch hazel is not far behind, here! Well, I’d take mahonia over nothing any day – those blossoms smell so sweet! Happy new year to you too!

  5. I really need to invest in some winter interest! Love the curly look and the color of your blooms. Regarding Megan’s comment about the moss growth on the tree. I was noticing what a fine crop we’ve got growing on our Japanese snow-bell trees. I just love it!

    • greenwalks Says:

      Loree – Cool about the moss on your snowbell trees. That must look super stylish. This is about my only real winter interest, so of course I have to pay close attention to it! Hope your recovery is going well!

  6. Catherine Says:

    I bet you’re excited to see it bloom. The Hellebores are probably the closest thing to blooming here.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Catherine – Look forward to seeing your first hellebore post. I’m sure you will have even more beauties this year! That reminds me to go check on mine tomorrow!

  7. Bonnie Story Says:

    That tangerine color is senseational! I checked my WH just yesterday – nobody home. Not even the lights on… must be the 500′ elevation here and c-c-c-old? I’ll keep closew atch. I’m also hovering around the Forsythia “Gold Tide” pair that always s so stunning but it’s really early for them too. *SIGH* Patience, patience… Thanks so much for your kind words on my blog, I sure appreciate that. Stay cozy !! Bonnie

  8. Jane Says:

    Gorgeous color on the hamamelis! Does yours have a scent, or is that just hamamelis mollis? There’s a public garden here in Portland, the Bishop’s Close, that has a lovely area of hamamelis mollis this time of year. I need to visit it – soon.

    We had our white sasanqua camellias in bloom, but they quit when the cold hit. Now I’m waiting for the dwarf sarcococca confusa to bloom in a planter along the front of our house: the flowers are tiny, but they are sweetly scented and a delightful surprise at the front door!

  9. Hi Karen, amazing flower indeed. I have -6 C and nothing is alive outside …great to see you blooms.
    I wish you a Happy New Year.

  10. Deirdre Says:

    I’m afraid the cold blast didn’t help my winter flowers. The cyclamen and winter jasmine will have to start over. Some of the buds on the ‘Charity’ mahonia were blackened. In the long run, I get the best, longest running color from bark; Acer conspicuum ‘Pheonix’, Acer circinatum ‘Pacific Fire’, Cornus sanquinea ‘Midwinter Fire’. I’m thinking about putting in some of the Calluna heathers that turn color in the winter.

  11. Amanda Says:

    Not sure what this is, but it is a nice flush of pink in the winter garden.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/SouthSoundGarden/SouthSoundGarden#5421972389780539730


Leave a Reply

