Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

The Race to Spring is ON! January 31, 2010

Filed under: bulbs,my garden — greenwalks @ 10:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ready…

Crocus thinking about blooming

Steady…

Crocus tommasinianus starting to open

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Crocus tommasinianus all the way open

Crocus tommasinianus over the course of about a week. I don’t remember having planted this many, so maybe they are naturalizing. That would be nice, especially if I would remember to divide and move them around a bit for even greater enjoyment next spring.

 

11 Responses to “The Race to Spring is ON!”

  1. Jane Says:

    Lovely! That last shot with pollen scattered on the petals is perfect. I love crocus and must get some for my woodland area!

  2. Tatyana Says:

    OMG! It’s a beauty itself! Great pictures!!!

  3. Darla Says:

    Mine are just now peeking out of the ground..They do naturalize..I can only hope mine look this good!

  4. fairegarden Says:

    Ooh, we planted tommies ‘Rosea’ last fall. The buds are visible already, even with snow on the ground still. Yours are a treat, so many blooms! Yes to the race, we all win!!!
    Frances

  5. I never thought they were worth the trouble, but you have made a convert yet again.

  6. easygardener Says:

    I think you are winning the race so far. I haven’t got any Crocus in flower yet. Every year I forget to divide them – I’m sure this year will be no exception!

  7. These are lovely – I never plant crocus, I dont know why not.
    Actually I like the top picture very much all furled up, with such pretty colours.
    K

  8. Catherine Says:

    What a pretty color! The only ones I’ve seen in bloom so far are orange. Mine are just poking up now.

  9. Nell Jean Says:

    Maybe I should try Tommies, next fall. I saw a photo once where the owner had planted Tommies in a heart shape, a lovely Valentine.

  10. HoodPhoto Says:

    I like the photos on your blog! Your crocus’s are farther along than ours. Beautiful!!! Have a wonderful rest of the week🙂

  11. Megan Says:

    They’re here! My crocus didn’t come up yet, but this is proof, it has to happen soon.


Leave a Reply

