Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Skywatch Friday – February 12, 2010 February 12, 2010

Filed under: sky,Skywatch Friday — greenwalks @ 8:46 am

Subtitle: A View From the Bridge

Taken from a speeding car on the I-5 Freeway heading north through Seattle; I’ve heard there are often crashes at this spot because drivers are swiveling their heads to look at the Cascade mountains to the East (pictured below) and the Olympics to the West. When they’re out on the same day, as they were on this day, it’s hard to resist ogling them. Luckily, I was just a passenger this trip.

Cascade Mountains Over Portage Bay, Seattle

Too bad about the ugly crane and hideous buildings in the left foreground. At least there’s water (Portage Bay) and trees and sky and all those amazing snow-capped peaks.

Happy Skywatch Friday! To see more skies from all over the world, click here.

 

10 Responses to “Skywatch Friday – February 12, 2010”

  1. There’s no prettier place on earth than Seattle on those rare days when both mountain ranges are visible with the water all around. Great photo, Karen.

  2. Jen Says:

    Wow – that is one big sky! I appreciate this as someone who is always handing my camera over to the kids to take shots because I’m driving. Sometimes they turn out, sometimes they don’t! But at least my hands stay on the wheel.

  3. Hugh Says:

    Most of the times I’ve been to Seattle the weather was rainy and there was little hint there were mountains all over the place. Then I went on a sunny winter day. Wow!

  4. Catherine Says:

    What a view! I love seeing the Olympics covered in snow. Don’t we live in a great place?!

  5. Matron Says:

    I just love looking round when I’m in Washington state. I visited near Mt Ranier and when the sun was in the right spot the mountain was pink and stunning! Sadly, Debbie has moved down to TX so no more planned visits for me.

  6. Lindz Says:

    nice scenery, eventhough it’s a bit gloomy and yet a beautiful city indeed

  7. This is hands down one of my favorite “road” views in Seattle. I never had an accident here but may have caused one. Thanks for taking me there!

  8. Bonnie Story Says:

    I love the baby blue and delicate peachy sky and clouds showing alongside the more stern gray colors. The scenery around this region is just re-donkulously beautiful!!! Have a great day!! Bonnie

  9. jean Says:

    I have been enjoying the skies a lot this winter too. Isn’t it exciting when we can see the mountians! btw, your filbert pictures give David a run for his money. Wonderful.

  10. Aerie-el Says:

    Nice capture! You have me wondering now if there are more accidents on the 520 and 90 bridges when both Mt Baker and Mt Rainier are out? It’s nice to be the passenger at those times.
    Enjoy the next week of great gardening weather!!


Leave a Reply

