Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

A Garden Valentine February 14, 2010

Filed under: flora — greenwalks @ 8:46 am
Tags: , ,

Hope you give and get some love today, whether it’s between you and a sweetie, family, kids, pets, and/or plants! Here is my valentine to you.

The neighbor’s pink camellia blossoms are already emerging. Seems early but maybe I’m just paranoid at this point.

Pink camellia

Coral-bark maple seen in a nearby parking strip, maybe a new planting since I didn’t notice it until recently.

Coral-bark maple in parking strip

It’s violet time!

First violets

Ribes (flowering currant) species of unknown name, planted in a rockery (well, a stumpery actually, since the beds are rimmed with big tree sections) near my house.

Flowering currant

Rained-on radicchio in my front veggie patch. Doesn’t it look like a raw red heart?

Heart-like radicchio

And, last but not least, this emerging tulip foliage with its red edges delicately rimmed in dewdrops looked just like the perfect Valentine heart to me.

Tulip "heart" outlined in dewdrops

Hope you have a good Valentine’s day, however you celebrate it (or don’t)!

 

14 Responses to “A Garden Valentine”

  1. What a lovely camellia! Wow! I”m envious – there’s only snow to show here.🙂

  2. gardeningasylum Says:

    Delicious post – that last shot is cute and clever!

  3. Thanks, Karen…and right back at you with Valentine greetings. It would be hard to top that tulip leaf heart.

  4. Karen that tulip image is just perfect! Happy Valentines to you!

  5. Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Karen! Pretty camellia;-) Wow, that is some ‘red’ there…and that tulip foliage-heart: PERFECT! Jan

  6. Jen Says:

    Wonderful shots and so welcome since everything here is still covered in snow!

  7. Carol Says:

    Fantastic photos! Thanks!

  8. Bonnie Story Says:

    Beautiful!! Very sweet. My currants are miles away from doing anything yet… I run about 6 weeks behind most other gardens I see pictured in the Puget Sound area. Happy Valentines Day to you!! Bonnie

  9. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ Your photos are dazzling. I agree that the heart shaped tulip foliage you so skillfully captured does look like a Valentine heart.

    I don’t think it’s early for the camellia. I think this is its normal time. We’ve just had a few years of drawn out winters which makes this early spring all the sweeter, I think.

    The radicchio looks like a rose blossom, surprisingly beautiful.

    Thanks for sending the love. Back at you, friend.

  10. Catherine Says:

    What a perfect heart the tulip is! The ribes is much further ahead than mine.
    I think a lot of people are a little paranoid that some late freeze is going to come and zap all of our flowers and buds.

  11. Jane Says:

    What a great roundup of red and pink! The tulip heart tops the visual imagery, but I like that wet, red radiccio and the lovely red stems of the paperbark maple. Your ribes is significantly ahead of mine: I look forward to seeing those unabashed magenta flowers.
    Hope your Valentine’s Day was wonderful.

  12. Blossom Says:

    Happy belated Valentine to you. Hope you enjoyed it.
    Lovely blooms you showed here. I especially like the first one, look pretty much like a rose.

  13. I love those violets! They look so adorable…

  14. Megan Says:

    I am so behind on my reading but had to mention how impressive that heart tulip photo is – good eye!


Leave a Reply

