Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Pink Petals in Parking Strips March 4, 2010

Filed under: flora,trees — greenwalks @ 9:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Does such a profusion of plums become prosaic? Or does it produce perfection? Peruse at your pleasure!

(This post is dedicated to Grace, who perennially pines for pink.)

Okay, enough with the alliteration. Seattle in early spring (yeah, I know it’s technically winter still, but it hasn’t felt like it in a long time so I’m going to go ahead and just call it spring. The plants and animals sure think it is!) offers an almost overwhelming spectacle – entire streets lined with wildly blooming ornamental plum trees. Apricots, cherries, magnolias, cornelian cherries, and many others abound as well, but the plums are ubiquitous and seemingly the earliest, so when they arrive it feels like spring is really here. The pinkness is impossible to ignore and hard not to be cheered by.

My neighborhood has gone nuts for these trees. Many have deep purple leaves so a long line of them can be a little blah in the summer. But oh, for these few weeks, they shine. I have been crossing my fingers for no lashing storms to hasten the petals to an early demise, and so far we’ve been lucky. Standing under some of these, neighbors have stopped to comment and enjoy the spectacle together.

So, without further ado, the reigning queens of the blossom ball, all from parking strips!

Plum trees abloom

Ephermeral plum blossoms

Venerable plum tree

Pink plum blossoms on pavers

Plum tree bloom explosion

Parking strip pinkness

Mini plum branch

Blue skies and pink plum flowers

Pink confetti in the grass

Pale pink plum blossoms with purple leaves beginning to emerge

 

17 Responses to “Pink Petals in Parking Strips”

  1. gardeningasylum Says:

    Spring has arrived in Seattle! Gorgeous photos.

  2. Catherine Says:

    What pretty pink pictures🙂 I love seeing the Plums blooming now and have you noticed how sweet the air smells around them? The scent seems to carry pretty far.

  3. Portland is awash in pink tutus also. What a nice job you did of capturing the atmosphere.

  4. Melanthia Says:

    Love all these shots, but most impressive is the line of trees. Such great impact! I really enjoy when the petals fall, it’s like a delicate snowfall.

  5. Tatyana Says:

    Beautiful! Love all your pictures. Almost can feel the aroma of blooming trees.

  6. Meredith Says:

    Oh, I love this tree. Our spring seems to be a bit behind this year — or maybe I never realized how early a Seattle spring is. We planted one of these behind my parent’s house for mother’s day almost 20 years ago now, and it’s an incredible sight in bloom, now towering above the roofline.🙂

  7. Hugh Says:

    Same here. The plums are amazing this year, and now the cherries are joining the party.

  8. Jen Says:

    Last year I did a post about my pink petals titled “Pruning Procrastingation Produces Petal Problem”. That’s because the petals end up several inches deep on the lawn – yeah, the tree is just a bit overgrown! But so pretty – thanks for the closeup shots too. I gotta wait til May to see the real thing here.

  9. Grace Says:

    Karen, you dear sweet girl!!! My heart is happy. These photos are just magical! I love the pink-lined street, the trees lined up like billowy belles waiting for their beaus. [Alliteration just comes naturally with this subject matter, doesn’t it?]

    The white flowered trees almost look like they’re snow-covered. [I know. Bite my tongue.] And I love how you photographed the little flower sprig protruding from the tree’s trunk.

    It’s always a little bittersweet when the petals begin to fall. Beautiful to look at yet but an inescapable end as well.

    A fitting tribute to passionate pink-a-holics everwhere. Thanks dear friend.

  10. Bonnie Story Says:

    Gorgeous!!! I HEART these blossoms is Spring! Er…. late winter.

    Saw this and thought of you:
    http://lisastown.com/inspirationwall/

    Really neat stuff! Dig that crazy cistern!

  11. easygardener Says:

    They do look spectacular and I think you can truly say Spring has come!

  12. Megan Says:

    I love the first tree blooms in spring, and yes, it really seems like spring is here to stay, even with this last cold weather hiccup yesterday. How was Seattle in the snow department yesterday? We had a few flurries here, while it was 48 degrees out. Crazy, but no real winter cold ever took hold.

  13. This fleeting time of bloom is so heavenly! It must be wonderful to slowly walk along underneath these trees! What thoughtful folks who planted these. I enjoyed walking along with you! Beautiful!! ;>)

  14. mothernaturesgarden Says:

    I vote for perfection.

  15. Jane Says:

    I love this celebration of pink spring! It reminds me I must check on the flowering pears at my old house a few blocks away!
    Thank you for taking us for the walk along the street in your lovely neighborhood.

  16. Georgia Says:

    Absolutely delightful, Karen! Thanks for sharing your beautiful photographs.

  17. Kim Says:

    I love these photos! So pretty. We are still waiting for spring, even though it was 72 today. I’m hoping the warm temps cause things to pop out. I’d love to have lovely views like your photos nearby.


Leave a Reply

