Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

There It Is! March 11, 2010

Filed under: perennials — greenwalks @ 2:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

Way back in the summer of 2008, I bought and planted a hebe ‘Red Edge’ and then moaned about its lack of signature coloration. Then I noticed that it redeemed itself by living through not one, but two harsh Northwest winters in a row when all of my other hebes bit the dust. It’s in the far end of my parking strip and I don’t get down that way too often this time of year, so I was pleasantly surprised to see its new foliage is displaying the scarlet-rimmed characteristic for which I was lured to buy it in the first place!

Hebe 'Red Edge' shows its colors

I think it’s pretty safe to say that this one will be a keeper. I’ve read that it prefers regular mulching and water and doesn’t thrive in clay soils, but it is supremely neglected in this location and seems fine. It might never grow very wide, but that solves yet another issue, the need to thin it. I am all about the easy-care plants these days.

Hebe 'Red Edge' in early spring

 

15 Responses to “There It Is!”

  1. gardeningasylum Says:

    Hubba hubba hebe! It’s funny how often plants need time to settle in and do their thing. They seem to know when I’m out of patience – threatening to pull them out works surprisingly often🙂

  2. Melanthia Says:

    Aren’t these great shrubs!? I’ve got a couple of the ‘Red Edge’ that also survived the wacky winters. I was told the smaller leafed variety tend to be a bit hardier, versus one’s like ‘Amy,’ which I lost to the 2008 winter. Since yours is showing it’s true colors, does that mean SAGBUTT gets to come for a tour? (teehee) Fabulous photos, btw. And if you’re further interested in hebes: http://www.hebesoc.org/

  3. Pretty! I’m glad yours is finally living up to its name.

    I had one that completely died after winter 2008/2009, well completely except for1 branch. I left it and now an entire new shrub has grown…about 10″ on the other side of that one branch. That branch looks so silly all by itself but I hate to cut it off because it’s the survivor!

  4. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ She’s a beaut all right. Puts my little one to shame. From what I understand this species bears its brightest colors in winter, fades to silvery blue in summer. Same thing with ‘Shamrock’ but I think mine’s a gonner. And I remember hearing that the smaller the leaf the hardier the Hebe which is the way I’m going from now on. It hurts too much to lose those beloved large leafed ones.

  5. Ooh, that is nice. I do like that little blush of rose on the edges of the leaves.

  6. Bonnie Story Says:

    That’s lovely! I adore the geometric ziggurat foliage. The rosy color is something I have never seen before on a Hebe. Always just plain green or variegated green at best, but this is really special. When we get our deer fencing up I might consider Hebe, a nearby friend has a nice one and it might survive here on the south side of my house. I occasionally miss my old carefree zone 9, no-deer gardening, and this pretty Hebe plant pushes those buttons!

  7. Catherine Says:

    That is a pretty one. It sounds like it would be a good one for the area in my backyard that I’ve been working on. If it can handle some neglect that makes it even better.

  8. Maitreya Says:

    I love hebes. That’s such a pretty cultivar.

  9. Jane Says:

    Isn’t it great when you rediscover a survivor? I just saw that same hebe yesterday at a nursery and thought how pretty it was. I’ve been reluctant to grow hebes thinking they were marginally hardy, but your story gives me a push. This one, at least, looks like a winner!

  10. rebecca Says:

    Nice pictures–good to see them right-side-up, unlike the ones we were discussing…

  11. amanda Says:

    Gorgeous! Art and Math! Love the top photo, it gives such a great idea of the repetition in the pattern.

  12. i keep being seduced by hebes and then they slap me in the face with a dying act. Just when I think I’ve learned my lesson, here you come luring me back into dangerous territory.

  13. Sunny Says:

    those pics are lovely

  14. jocelynh Says:

    I gotta get me one of these. All of my hebes bit the dust this winter…

  15. Jordan Says:

    I meant to leave this comment earlier. I didn’t lose any Hebes last winter. Hebe x pimeleoides, H recurva, H salicifolia & H sempervirens all came through the last 2 winters without any damage at all. I love your blog. You are welcome to come by & see my Seattle sidewalk garden any time. My garden is on tour Saturday, April 3. Jordan


Leave a Reply

