Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Check Out the Bellevue Botanical Garden March 25, 2010

… with SAGBUTT this Sunday, March 28, at 1pm! For details, click the “What is SAGBUTT” link at the top right of the Greenwalks home page. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment here or shoot me an email: greenwalksblog@yahoo.com

I visited the BBG last spring at around this time, when they were in the throes of revamping their perennial beds. It was a huge undertaking and it will be exciting to see how much things have transformed over the course of the year! Sadly, I can’t find my pictures from that visit, but if I do I’ll try to do a before/after sequence next week.

On an unrelated note, shrubs and trees are leafing out with wild abandon, since spring continues to advance with warm days galore. I don’t think my yellow-twig dogwood usually buds up in March… this one’s flowers are usually not much of anything special, but I liked this one branch that seemed to float out above the rest.

Yellow-twig dogwood blossom in spring

 

One Response to “Check Out the Bellevue Botanical Garden”

  1. Grace Says:

    Exquisite, Karen. Yesterday I noticed my lilacs are really close to blooming. My husband’s birthday is April 15 and usually I’ve got a lilac bouquet on the table. They’re definitely early and you’ll get zero complaints from me!

    I look forward to reading about your next outing. Sounds fun. Fingers crossed for good weather.


Leave a Reply

