Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Newness April 5, 2010

Filed under: blogging,flora — greenwalks @ 10:30 am
Tags: ,

Part of living in this age is deciding whether to keep up with advances in technology. I am usually a laggard, and the adoption of a “smart phone” was no different. However, 5+ years after they were invented, here I am, typing away with one very slow finger.

Since there is nothing more boring than hearing about someone’s new gadget, I will say nothing more on the subject, but did want to try posting this way to see how it works. The allure of easy photo uploads is the main reason for the attempt. If I try it again, the typing will have to be much shortenened!

This spring, I fell for a new (to me) plant, Erythronium. It is going to the top of my list for next fall’s bulb sale! For now, I will just admire others’.

Erythronim at the Center for Urban Horticulture, Seattle.

 

12 Responses to “Newness”

  1. Would you believe you are way ahead of me? I don’t know what my phone is exactly but it certainly isn’t smart. Congrats on the purchase and that Erythronim is a nice one. The foliage looks extra special.

  2. Mary Lamb Says:

    Please don’t wait and buy bulbs. (I’ve never seen Erythronium bulbs for sale.) The time to buy erythroniums is now, or at least at the Arboretum “early bloomers” sale on April 10. We have a lot of erythroniums in bloom, so you can see what you are getting. Arboretum, 10 am to 2 pm, Saturday April 10. The Plant Donations area is up a slight hill, behind the Pat Calvert greenhouse. We also have trilliums, hepaticas, anemone nemerosa, and a lot of other delightful plants.

    • Deirdre Says:

      I got Trout lilies on line from Colorblends last fall. Great price and great quality. Be sure to put out the non toxic iron based slug bait. Slugs seem to like them.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Well, I don’t even know what a smartphone is🙂 If it weren’t for my husband’s interest in some of these “gadgets” I probably wouldn’t have any.
    The Erythroniums are really pretty, I don’t know if I could pass that one up.

  4. Grace Says:

    Hi karen~~ I have a Samsung Rogue phone. It’s semi-intelligent but its user…well not so much. I never thought I’d be the slightest bit interested in electronic gadgetry but here I am, typing on a laptop, uploading from a digital camera. … I hardly know myself anymore.

    Brent & Becky’s Bulb Co. has Eyrthronium bulbs; different prices for several different species and cultivars. The first entry is 10 for $15.30. You might be able to get them cheaper but if not you’ve always got this resource. I spotted a clump growing in the wild last year. Very cool!

  5. Karen,
    Beautiful photographs. I also got Eyrthronium bulbs from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs last year. I have to go out into the garden to see if they have come up yet. It will be my first experience with them.I looking forward to seeing how they do.

  6. Jordan Says:

    I’ll give you some Erythronium bulbs. I’ve got tons, as you may have noticed. Thanks to Mary Lamb for reminding me of the Early Bloomers sale.

  7. I’m envious of your gadgetry and envious of those trout-lily (that’s what we call them here). Ours are banana yellow and much smaller – or were you just able to get super close with your super smart phone? And everyone is right – now’s the time to buy. Plus the bulbs are so delicate that they ought to be planted straight away. Go to that arboretum sale – I wish I could! (It’s actually a good thing my visit didn’t coincide with the sale. Oh the torture…)

  8. Bonnie Story Says:

    Hi Karen! I sat in the dentist’s waiting room yesterday watching a tween kid send several texts with her thumbs – flying at the speed of light!!!! It was amazing. She saw me observing her and gave me a little eye-roll, I felt so old and gray!! It was funny. “Like, OMG, some hag is totally stalking moi!!” tee-hee. But I was really impressed at how natural it was for her to be blazing away on her phone like that. Your fave flowers in the post are wonderful!! Whimsical, and I like the foliage too. The fun feminine up-flip of the petals kinda reminds me of “That Girl” hair! I say “Yes” to phone pictures – having a camera virtually always available with you really makes it possible to get some useful and one-of-a-kind shots without having to remember to bring the camera along… but I do like your other regular pictures quite a bit. Both is good! Cheers, Bonnie

  9. Guess that’s why so many abbreviations are slipping into the language. I continue to resist, but then we barely know how to use our plain old cell phone.

    My mom had trout lilies growing wild in her back yard in masses, a few of which have followed me home. Still waiting for them to “naturalize”, but there do seem to be a few more this year (yet to bloom). The flowers look like little pagodas to me.

  10. Deirdre Says:

    Colorblends (on line) has Trout Lilies at a great price. I bought 25 last year for about 25 dollars. I’m very happy with them.

  11. Megan Says:

    Aha. I see you got the new iPhone. The camera on those is great. Planning to upgrade some day. My old iPhone camera, not so much.


Leave a Reply

