Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Plant Amnesty Free Event April 18, 2010

Filed under: shrubs,trees — greenwalks @ 10:02 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Short notice, but if anyone would like to join me, I’m going to try to go to this:

Meeting of Like Minds, Hosted by the Heritage Tree Committee

When: Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010 — 7pm – 9pm

Where: Center for Urban Horticulture, 3501 NE 41st St, Seattle, NHS Hall

What: Fun evening with delicious potluck food. Free and open to the public.

For more information: Email us or call 206-783-9813

Speakers: Mike Lee and Arthur Lee Jacobson

Topic: From Wilted to Wow: Best Shrubs and Trees for Northwest Summers

The summer of 2009 was a valuable and sobering study of the drought and heat effects on landscape plants. Yet for every wilted or thirsty shrub or tree, certain species thrived merrily. You can plant lovely trees and shrubs that will thrive with little or no summer watering. In this joint seminar, nurseryman and landscape architect Mike Lee will suggest shrubs for Northwest gardens, and plant expert Arthur Lee Jacobson will recommend perfect trees.

(I have been reading, and very much enjoying, Arthur Lee Jacobson’s highly opinionated and enjoyable books, “Trees of Seattle” and “Trees of Green Lake ” – this sounds like a fun event and a great way to learn from some of Seattle’s greatest plant-savvy minds.)

The poster below is from a different Plant Amnesty event, which my family attended last year. It was great! I hope they are planning to do it again.

 

6 Responses to “Plant Amnesty Free Event”

  1. Jane Says:

    Sounds like a great event, Karen. I’ll have to look for Arthur Jacobson’s books: I’m sure a lot of the content would be applicable to Portland trees. One of my favorite tree books is “Trees of Greater Portland” by Phyllis Reynolds and Elizabeth Dimon. It’s older, but still wonderful for tree examples all over the PDX metro area and beautiful tree walks. Enjoy your evening!

  2. Jane Says:

    P.S. I just came back from Powell’s, our local huge book store. They had a used copy of Trees of Seattle but it was $42! I think that must have been because it had a little colored-pencil tree illustration and signed inscription. But considering the original cover price was around $16, I just couldn’t stretch to it.

  3. jen Says:

    Wish I could join you…That sounds like serious fun to me, but it is the kind of thing I’d have trouble rounding up friends for. And my husband would just look at me cockeyed and say “are you SERIOUS? You want me to go to a TREE festival? ” I wonder if the New Old Time Chatauqua will be there again– very intriguing!!

  4. Catherine Says:

    Both sound great. The one on Mother’s Day sounds like a lot of fun.

  5. Jordan Says:

    I’d like to attend. But I made plans to see a movie with a friend. But he’s a notorious flake, so I may end up there after all.

  6. Jordan Says:

    Did you go to the Plant Amnesty event? How was it?


Leave a Reply

