Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Molasses July 10, 2010

Filed under: bugs,flora,summer — greenwalks @ 10:19 am
Tags: , , ,

That’s the speed of my blogging, blog reading, and gardening this summer. Or slower. More like a wet bee, one of which I found on some lavender I cut and brought inside in the rain last week. Luckily, I have not been stung too frequently in my life, so it wasn’t a big deal to let the bee crawl on my finger so I could take it outside to transfer it to a flower (Campanula persificolia) for some drying-out time.

Soggy bee

It didn’t sting me, and when I went back later to check, it had gone, so I hope it was able to fly away.

The rains have gone, the sun is here, the garden is taking care of itself by necessity and if I can water every couple of days, usually as the sun is setting after 9:30pm, that’s life in the big city.

How is your garden growing so far? Do you have time to actually enjoy it? I hope you do!

 

11 Responses to “Molasses”

  1. Thanks for taking care of the bees. They rarely sting, except when we unwittingly disturb their domiciles (I speak from experience), and then I don’t blame them.

  2. Grace Says:

    Well, one thing’s for sure, Karen. Summer has arrived. The ghastly heat last week, didn’t help my molasses run any faster. I think we’re in for a cool down, finally. I hope anyway.

    I’m sure your bee appreciated your kind handling. They are such gentle giants aren’t they?

    I’m way behind on blog writing and reading. I think many bloggers are. We just do what we can.

    I’m glad to see you’re well and happy.

  3. Meredith Says:

    How lovely, Karen, that your complete lack of fear allowed you to release this bee as gently as possible. I think you’re definitely not the only one falling behind — with our winter blog-reading schedules, that is. But I have to remember that in winter I felt as if my activity level fell off a cliff and I had garden withdrawal that I supplemented with increasing doses of garden blogs.

    So to everything there is a season. The pendulum will swing back. Enjoy it out there while you can!

  4. Thanks for the check in so we know you are still up there in the emerald city. Are the mosquitoes as bad there as they are here in Portland? Geeze! Enjoy your peaceful watering garden time…

  5. Megan Says:

    Same around here – where does the time go? The poor garden gets the bare minimum these days, but it looks pretty decent considering. I’m waiting for the summer sun lovers to start filling in, there are still a few bare spots out there.

  6. Racquel Says:

    I’ve enjoyed it a bit more in the past couple of days since the temps dropped a bit and we got some much needed rain. Hoping for some more though, every little bit will help.🙂

  7. Hey Karen, I commented yesterday but my comments are still being eaten up by the hungry wordpress monster. I’ll try it again….it’s great to ‘hear from you’ and its good that your summer is full of things besides the internet! We should all be out there enjoying it more.

  8. Catherine Says:

    I’ve been slow too. I’ve been posting, but the room the computer is in gets so hot I can’t sit too long reading blogs. As much as I love the sun, the 90’s are a little hot for me. This week I plan to spend lots of time in the garden. Hope you’re having fun this summer!

  9. Georgia Says:

    Pleasure to read something new!

  10. meemsnyc Says:

    Sometimes when I bring blooms in, there are bugs on the flower, but never a bee. Glad you did not get stung.

  11. I figured you were in summer mode on blogging – Moms have a lot to do when kiddos are home for the day! That’s as it should be.
    Summer has arrived in Portland, and we are all in maintenance mode since it’s too hot and too late (or too early) to plant new garden plants. I did plant out some very late veggie starts yesterday where we removed the running bamboo. We’ll see if we get an Indian summer (is it okay to call it that?) to help them ripen. Enjoy this wonderful time of year!


Leave a Reply

