Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Bloglull December 29, 2010

Filed under: berries,blogging,flora,summer,veggies — greenwalks @ 3:04 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

My garden blog buddy Jordan of Metropolitan Gardens (check out his incredible blog if you haven’t already) said the other day that he noticed Greenwalks has been “in a bit of a lull” lately. That was a rather kind way, I thought, to point out the obvious, which is that I had basically abandoned it, and indeed all of garden blogland, since the end of last spring.

Why did I stop? Many reasons:  life challenges, lack of time, feeling like I had nothing novel or of interest to say or show, the usual. Did I miss it? Yep. Did I feel bad for just trailing off without explanation? Kind of. But here’s the weird thing – after two years (okay, not quite) of frequent posts and obsessive tagging, a ghost trail of Greenwalks still exists out there in Web land and the clicks didn’t completely stop. I did miss the comments and the nice exchanges with fellow bloggers, though, and maybe there will be a time when I am able to come back to this world more regularly, since it has been so fun to be a part of.

In the meantime, Greenwalks will probably stay in its unofficial lull. I hope to be back eventually, but for now will leave you with the last images I uploaded to my Flickr account at the end of summer – a bit of warmth on a day where snowflakes are floating down from the Seattle skies.

Cheers and Happy New Year to all, and may your gardens grow well this coming year!

Northgate Community Center Planters

Well-composed planters outside the Northgate Community Center. Lots of kids zipping around the next-door playground, but the pottery and flowers are intact. Miraculous!

Blueberry trio

Sum total of our blueberry harvest this year. I moved the bushes to a sunnier spot, so maybe next year we’ll get a few more?!?!

Green bean first harvest

The green beans are reliable performers in our small veggie garden. We enjoyed these within about 10 minutes of picking them!

Late summer harvest

Our harvests will never tip the scales, but it’s nice to have a little something fresh every day from the garden. The end of the snap peas (planted super late, but then a bumper crop since the summer was cool), some cherry tomatoes, basil (rescued from the jr. gardener, who usually eats every leaf before I can snip any!) and chives for three-onion risotto.

Favorite sunflower

Last but not least, my favorite volunteer Mexican sunflower of the summer. I haven’t planted these for years, they just keep coming up in my parking strip veggie patch! Every year, the colors are slightly different. I wonder what colors will show their faces this coming year?

 

22 Responses to “Bloglull”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Well I’m glad I still get to see what you’re up to via FB. Maybe once spring is here you’ll feel more into blogging, but either way that’s the good part of blogging – no expectations.
    That sunflower is so pretty! None of the ones I planted came up this year.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Catherine, thank you so much. I agree, no expectations takes the pressure off! Hope you have a better sunflower season this coming summer!

  2. Tatyana Says:

    Yes, your absence was has been noticed! Have a nice break and come back! I think if I lived in Seattle, I would also blog not so often, because there are so many interesting things to do in your beautiful city! Picasso exhibit, for example… I loved it! And so many good restaurants, theaters… Stay warm and cozy this Holiday Season. Happy and Healthy New Year to you and yours!

    • greenwalks Says:

      Tatyana, you are too kind. Yes, there is a lot to do here. I should do more of it! Have to see Picasso before it goes… maybe tomorrow if we can get tickets! Happy New Year to you as well!

  3. OMG! So good to hear from you…miss your posts more than you can know. Happy New Year!

    • greenwalks Says:

      Loree, thank you so much, it means a lot. I have really missed checking in daily on your world too. Hoping I can get back to it in the coming year, I am way behind in my spiky plant lore!

  4. Jordan Says:

    That was a great post. The most important thing about a blog is that you enjoy creating it. And it’s good to know that there are people out here who enjoy reading it. It may sound silly, but making a garden blog is one of the things that gives my life meaning.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Jordan, thank you for the nudge that inspired me to get started again, even if it might be temporary. I agree, the blog thing can be very meaningful and provide some nice connections, both virtual and real.

  5. Nice way to wind up the year. You are missed, but whenever you choose to put out a post, it pops up in my email, so I won’t miss it. I hope those life experiences that interfere with blogging are bringing you joy through the holidays and beyond…don’t believe a word of the part about having nothing interesting to say.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Ricki – You are so sweet. It is so true that I have missed these conversations. I hope to be back in the flow at some point!

  6. Karen, how nice to see a post from you and hear you’re out there and okay. I have missed your posts. And having taken a necessary break from blogging myself this past year, I know it can be hard to resume. As my dear old Dad would say, “take a light strain,” on the blogging issue: We’ll be here and delighted to hear from you when you post – frequently or just once a year!

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hello Jane – See, I’m so out of it, I didn’t know you’d taken a break too. I thank you so much for your kind words and for passing along your dad’s wisdom!

      • Karen, just checking in to say I miss an old friend and her voice. Hope all is well with you and your family, and this mild winter finds you in your garden (at least occasionally) and happy!

  7. Bonnie Story Says:

    Hello!! I too have miss your writing and your perspective – want to encourage you to post occasionally when time allows. I send people to your blog all the time for the great streetside pics and observations. Happy New Year!!! — Bonnie

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Bonnie, thank you so much, it’s so nice to hear from you. Thanks also for sending people my way, even though I wasn’t there to greet them! 🙂

  8. VP Says:

    Hi Karen – thanks for the update – I’d been wondering what you’d been up to. It’s always slightly alarming when a blogger disappears for a while. So glad that it’s life’s priorities which is keeping you away from the blogosphere, which is as it should be.

    I’d just popped in to get your blog’s URL – I’m in the process of putting some public planting resource pages together and Greenwalks is a great one for the Blog category whether or not you’re still around. Hopefully it’ll keep those clicks coming your way 🙂

    Have a good and happy 2011!

  9. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ I understand how life can get busy. But you are missed. I always enjoy your posts and I’ll keep an eye out for your infrequent postings. Happy New Year. Stay warm. Hugs, Grace

  10. easygardener Says:

    I did wonder why you had been so quiet. I think these lulls are quite natural. SometimesI just don’t want to blog ….for whatever reason the interest drains away. I hope you return when you feel in the mood 🙂

  11. Georgia Says:

    I see you on FB but miss your garden observations. Thank for this nice post Karen; will re-view it many more times.

  12. Lorene Says:

    I sooooooo understand your dilemma. I heartily second what Jordan said “it’s supposed to be fun” I’m trying to step away from the code and get back to that myself!
    Best of luck

  13. Carol Capelli Says:

    Your photos are beautiful. It takes time and effort to do what you do, and talent. I congratulate you and understand your lull. It takes so long for me just to go through my emails, and it is like another world out there which is not really the world we live in and function in, which of course, is the reality which we need stay focussed in.

  14. Megan Says:

    You and I have been on similar schedules. Some day maybe we’ll both find the time again. Best, from a fellow delinquent blogger.


Leave a comment