Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Confused crabapple August 14, 2010

Filed under: flora,oddities,trees — greenwalks @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

What the huh?

Confused crabapple

(Photo taken on August 13, 2010)

My spindly parking strip ornamental crabapple trees, which I keep threatening to remove but somehow never do, just did the strangest thing. Perhaps distracted by the recent and unusual-for-August spate of cool, wet weather, they put out a new bunch of leaves and, even odder, some more blossoms.

As far as I know, they have never done this before, and both trees are at it.

Has anyone else experienced this? Am I wrong to find it bizarre?? I’m not complaining – they look a little less terrible this way. Just puzzled.

 

13 Responses to “Confused crabapple”

  1. I did see this once in NY along Madison Ave. … curious. I thought they had been stressed and it was the trees way to regroup. Maybe if you pruned it in the winter it would take on a better form. Good luck! ;>)

  2. Laura Says:

    Wild! Will you get a second round of fruit?

  3. Racquel Says:

    Must be the crazy weather you are having this summer. Enjoy your blooms! 🙂

  4. Jordan Says:

    I’ve seen this fairly often with many different trees & shrubs. My apple tree sometimes puts out a few blooms in the fall. Right now, 1 of my magnolias is blooming a bit. I’ve never seen it bloom twice before. But I’m not surprised. I don’t know how long you’ve had your garden. But after 18 years, I can clearly see that my garden is different every year. This year I have a Clematis & a lily blooming profusely. I hadn’t even seen any sign of them for at least 2 years. I was sure they were dead.

  5. Grace Says:

    My buddy Carol had her apple tree blooming in late summer. Bizarre. Poor things are confused. I know it’s got something to do with the number of daylight hours.

  6. It’s odd, but not unknown. I often see azaleas and rhodies rebloom late in summer. My crabapple is not showing any signs of a renewed spring push, though.

    Enjoy the fun!

  7. Paula Says:

    I’m not seeing that but we had no cherries this year. something about the spring I suspect. gotta get blogging again. Little gardening going with the event of moving my mom here from KS. Did just go shopping for a camera and the s90 was one option. Decided I liked its size over the larger option, and then none to be found! Ended up with the s95. Just today so have no results yet. Paula

  8. Margie Says:

    We have two crabapple trees. Of the two trees one has already dropped most of it’s leaves and looks tired, old and sad. In the last few days this tired old tree has begun sprouting new growth and is blooming for the second time this summer. This is the first time I’ve seen this happen and have no good answers for why it’s happening, but it makes me smile every time I walk by my crazy crabapple tree.

  9. Megan Says:

    I’m relieved I’m not the only one with confused trees. I thought they were getting ready to die, and my oddly timed flowers were an effort to preserve the species. But weird weather makes more sense, and is less dramatic.
    Your comment about enjoying weeding – I can relate. Yesterday I was taking out the garbage, didn’t really have time to garden but I couldn’t help myself, and stopped to pull a few weeds, and was so happy to have that little luxury. It is very therapeutic to get your hands in the dirt, if only briefly.

  10. Sara Says:

    My leafless tired crabapple tree is blooming, too!

  11. Sara Says:

    So is my magnolia tree! (It’s very weird, but one of my magnolia trees blooms throughout the entire season ~ May through September in NE Wisconsin.

  12. meemsnyc Says:

    I just found your blog! I like it!

  13. Josephine Says:

    My crabapple tree is doing the same thing now in early September. I thought the tree looked as though it might be dying and now there are blooms. Don’t know why. Also, about three weeks ago, my tulip magnolia has blooms again, although not as abundant as in the spring. Does anyone know what would cause this phenomenon.


Leave a comment