Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Ice Cream Weather (An Off-Topic Rave) April 8, 2009

Filed under: digressions — greenwalks @ 10:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

This past week of summer-like temperatures in Seattle has definitely been good for the town’s ice cream hawkers as well as gardeners, I would think. A relatively new addition to the gourmet ice cream purveyor’s club here is Molly Moon’s in Wallingford. We tried it out the other weekend (when it was freezing out, but we didn’t care and weren’t the only ones – it was packed anyway) and I was blown away by both the design of the tiny storefront and its wares.

First of all, great logo, great sign:

Molly Moon's sign

Another exterior sign, the letters that have been cut out of it are inside:

Upside down ice cream sign

They’re not kidding here – once you’re indoors, the scent of the freshly-cooking waffle cones would not allow you to order anything else:

Come get your waffle cones

These were the only free seats we saw the whole time we were there, lovely simple hewn blocks of wood, complete with character-ful cracks:

Wood block seats at Molly Moon's

This sign just had me grinning – I love when businesses actually take their waste-production seriously and take real steps to reduce it. 100% compostable everything, woo hoo!

Molly Moon's compostables sign

Amazing chandelier made of wires, binder clips and paper. You could probably make one at home if you were really arty:

Light sculpture at Molly Moon's

The flavor decision was downright brutal. I thought my brain was going to explode. How did they choose so many of my all-time favorite but hard to find ice cream flavors? Balsamic Strawberry, Ginger, Honey Lavender, Mandarin Chocolate Sorbet, Salted Caramel,Thai Iced Tea… those were just the front-runners. The winner? Salted Caramel by a nose. Delicious!

Salted caramel on a waffle cone

 

7 Responses to “Ice Cream Weather (An Off-Topic Rave)”

  1. Grace Says:

    Karen~~ All I can say is YUM. What a delightful shop. Ya gotta love that unique chandelier. The outdoor sign is pretty cool too. Not so sure about the butcher block “chairs.” LOL.

  2. easygardener Says:

    I wish we had a shop like that – what amazing flavours. I feel very envious!

  3. Matron Says:

    I don’t suppose you could post me one? We’ve had lovely sunny weather here too!

  4. Catherine Says:

    Guess I know where we’ll be stopping for ice cream on our next trip to Seattle. I love their design too, especially the awning/sign with cut out letters.

  5. RainGardener Says:

    Hi Karen, Late as usual. I read some of it yesterday but then buzzed up to the greenhouse to do some sedum planters for the farmers market coming with the May Day Celebration in the little town south of us (it’s their big week).
    Neat little shops and interesting city stuff is probably what I miss most about living in town and the big variety you have. I guess my country life (although inconvenient in so many ways) still outweighs the wonderful things about city life – for me that is. Well, maybe we can hit it when we come up to Kubota Gardens. Or the Pike Place Market.
    Now ice cream – that’s a real biggy with me. Just love it. Too much I’m afraid. I’d be like you and not know what to pick with so many choices. Sounds great! Did they have Chocolate Praline? Baskin Robbins featured it once years ago and I’ve never seen it since. It was heavenly!!!
    Hey a week or so ago I saw some parking, hell, whatever strips I couldn’t believe. They are twice the size (if not a little more) of the normal sized ones. Huge! I couldn’t believe it. I’ll have to go back and check them out and see if any are planted. Boy would ya have a lot to plant. One section could do a nice vegie and flower garden! Got to take pics for ya! Later, Linda

  6. Megan Says:

    Well now I know where I have to go on my next trip to Seattle. The sign was good enough to seal the deal for me, but the flavors are too good to pass up.
    I think I’m going to head up and check out that Rhododendron Species Foundation soon, although I hear Weyerhauser closed the bonsai garden next door, so I’m worried for their long term public garden status.

  7. Makes me want to get out my ice cream maker — I would have had a hard choice between the balsamic strawberry, lavendar honey, and the Thai iced tea! What a precious sign of the dog licking the cone, too!


Leave a Reply

